Sunday, March 2, 2014

Women in Motorsports

International Women's Day 2014 Theme: INSPIRING CHANGE
March 8, 2014

Each year International Women's Day (IWD) is celebrated on March 8. The first International Women's Day was held in 1911. Thousands of events occur to mark the economic, political and social achievements of women. Organizations, governments, charities, educational institutions, women's groups, corporations and the media celebrate the day. Women's equality has made positive gains but the world is still unequal. International Women's Day celebrates the social, political and economic achievements of women while focusing world attention on areas requiring further action.

Inspiring Change is the 2014 theme for the global hub and encourages advocacy for women's advancement everywhere in every way. It calls for challenging the status quo for women's equality and vigilance inspiring positive change.

Here’s a list of women whose contributions and achievements in Motorsports
deserve recognition. Congratulations Ladies and thanks for being great role models!! (Photo order by name below)

Mary Barra- EVP GM, Global Products, Engineer
Barbara Parks-NHRA & Hot Rod Magazine Secretary
Margie Petersen-Petersen Publishing Foundation
Shirley Muldowney-Drag Racing legend
Linda Vaughn-First Lady of Motorsports
Paula Murphy-Land speed record holder, Funny car driver
Eily Stafford-Nostalgia drag racer
Delma Reath-cofounder of Reath Automotive
Alexis DeJora- Funny car driver. Fuel class
Camee Edelbrock-VP Advertising, Edelbrock Corp.
Veda Orr- first woman member SCTA
Peggy Hart- founder Santa Ana Dragstrip
Judy Thompson-Lions Dragstrip Manager
Penny Pichette-cofounder West Coast Kustoms Crusin Nationals, Hall of Fame inductee
Debbie Baker-founder Cruise for a Cure
Drag Racing Assn of Women-a non-profit organization that provides financial and emotional support to qualified individuals involved in drag racing accidents at a track.
Dusty Brandel-President & Executive Director, AARWBA, Journalist-
American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association, Inc.
Ashley, Courtney, Brittany & Adria Force- John Force Racing